Acute Medical Unit

Acute Medicine Department

The Acute Medicine Department in Russells Hall Hospital is located in ward A1 and A2 in the ground floor East Wing. The Department consists of 3 different clinical areas; Acute Medical Unit (AMU), Ambulatory Emergency Care (AEC) and short stay ward (A2).


AMU consists of 32 beds and 4 side rooms. AEC (formally A1) is located next to AMU and consists of 4 trolley assessment beds, 2 clinic rooms and a room for triage and treatment. The short stay ward located in ward A2 consists of three stations; a total of 36 beds and 6 side rooms
AMU operates closely with the Emergency Department and admits medical patients 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The main role of AMU is to provide you with an initial assessment, investigation and treatment for admissions with medical problems.

AEC is open from 8:00 to 19:00 and GPs or other healthcare professionals can refer you directly to the unit. ED can also refer you to AEC if you are an ambulatory patient (not likely to require inpatient admission). AEC can be a busy unit but we aim to make your journey through the acute unit as smooth as possible. Whilst in AEC you can expect to have nurse triage, doctor clerking and consultant review along with necessary investigations. If you are admitted from ED or AEC to AMU, the consultant-led AMU team will instigate a management plan for you. There are daily reviews after you have been seen by a junior doctor from 8:00 to 21:00 in AMU and AEC, seven days a week including bank holidays. If you need specialty input, you will then be referred to different specialties. Senior led respiratory, cardiology and gastroenterology ward rounds occur on a daily basis in the mornings in AMU. Following treatment on the AMU, you may be well enough to be discharged or, if you need further inpatient specialist care, you will be transferred to an appropriate ward within 48 hours.


You may be admitted to Short Stay Ward (A2) from AMU or AEC if your expected length of stay is 48-72 hours. Senior led team will review you on a daily basis including weekends and bank holidays. If you need longer stay for further treatment, you may be transferred to other appropriate wards after 48-72 hours. In AMU and Short Stay Ward, you will also be reviewed by therapy services if necessary.



Following your discharge home, an electronic discharge summary is sent to the your  GP giving details of investigations and treatment on the unit, with details of medication changes, medications on discharge and any recommendations for follow up and referrals.
There are regular HOT clinics done by acute medicine registrars to follow up if you need a further urgent review after discharge. Any outstanding/ outpatient investigations can be followed up on a virtual clinic basis.

Team of doctors: 

The AMU consists of 10 full-time consultants

  • Dr Hassan Paraiso (Medical Service Head)
  • Dr Matthew Maw
  • Dr Snigdhendu Mandal
  • Dr Randa Abasaeed-Elhag
  • Dr Thanasis Georgalas
  • Dr Ibrahim Malik
  • Dr Anirban Chakraborty
  • Dr. Hamaad Bajwa
  • Dr Murali Veerabahu ( Locum )
  • Dr. Partha Nandi ( Locum )


Junior doctors

Acute Medicine Department has 4 middle grades including 2 deanery trainees and 2 staff grade doctors. AMU has junior doctors in various stages of their training including FY1, FY2, Core Medical Training (CMT), Acute Care Common Stem (ACCS) trainees and Trust doctors. We have 7 permanent physician associates and 1 rotational physician associate in our department.


Key Personnel:

Medical Service Head: Dr Hassan Paraiso

Medical secretary: Victoria Green/ Lisa Mulroney (Ext: 2654/1783)

Matron: Laura Savva

Lead Nurses:

  • AEC (Ext 1692)- Claire Weatherstone
  • AMU 1 (Ext 1695)- Leanne Beadles/ Lisa Evans-Dimmock
  • AMU 2 (Ext 4273)- Leanne Beadles/ Lisa Evans-Dimmock

Visiting Hours:

  • AMU 12.00- 20.00
  • A2 14.00-16.00/ 18.30-20.00